Making Music at Erskine

Erskine College awards music scholarships to both majors and non-majors.  For audition information and schedule, click here.

You do not need to major or minor in music to receive a music scholarship, but the conditions of the scholarship will require you to continue taking applied music lessons and to participate in an Erskine faculty-directed ensemble.  You should plan to audition as early as possible during your senior year of high school.

Awards (No Audition Required)

Erskine Arts Award ($2500) – High School students who have been selected for All-State ensembles will be named Erskine Arts Fellows.  They will receive $2500 scholarships to continue to use their musical gifts in the Music Department’s student ensembles. No audition required.

Students with membership in regional choirs, bands, or orchestra ensembles may also be eligible for the Erskine Arts Award. Please contact the Music Department to discuss eligibility.

Auditioned Scholarships

Felix Karl Bauer Scholarship – Established by Dr. and Mrs. Robert B. Cunningham of Knoxville, Tenn., to honor the illustrious teaching career of Felix K. Bauer, professor emeritus of art and music, as well as his talents as a musician and artist. Recipients of the Bauer Scholarship shall be regularly enrolled Erskine College students pursuing a course of study leading to a degree who show proficiency in the area of music and art while exhibiting the qualities of outstanding character associated with Professor Bauer and his wife, Martha Bauer, R.N., a county leader in the field of public and school health.

Dr. John G. Brawley, Jr. Scholarship Fund – Established by Mrs. John G. Brawley Jr. as a tribute and in memory of Dr. John G. Brawley Jr., who served Erskine College in the Music Department with dedication and distinction for nearly 40 years. Recipients shall be music majors who have demonstrated a high degree of proficiency and participation in the instrumental programs offered at Erskine.

Gladys K. Gurney Music Scholarship – Established by a bequest for the Gladys Kirton Gurney, Erskine Class of 1925. Income from this fund will provide scholarships to students proficient in music who demonstrate need for financial assistance.

Elizabeth Culpepper Hyman Scholarship – Elizabeth Culpepper Hyman of Bartow, Fla., Erskine College graduate and a distinguished pianist and music teacher for more than 50 years, has established a scholarship fund in the Erskine Endowment Fund as a lasting tribute to the importance of musical studies within the liberal arts program, especially choral performance, piano study, and the study of the teaching of piano skills. At the request of Erskine College, this program is named in Mrs. Hyman’s honor. Students receiving Elizabeth Culpepper Hyman Scholarships shall be of good moral character and show promise of future usefulness to society. They shall be majors in the study of music with emphasis on piano study and performance. Preference will be given to the individual selected by the Choral Director as accompanist of Erskine Choral Groups. The scholarship is awarded solely on the basis of merit.

Mary Deck Jenkins Patrick Scholarship Fund – Established by the family of Mrs. Patrick as a tribute to an outstanding life and legacy. Students selected for the scholarship must be music majors studying in the fields of piano and voice.

W.A. Anthony Voice Scholarship – Recipients shall have an interest in music with an emphasis in voice, preferably with some experience in church choirs; must be a member of an ARP church; be of good character and have financial need.

Harriette Edwards Spivey Scholarship – The late Collins A. Spivey of Conway, S.C., and Belle Miller Spivey Hood of Myrtle Beach, S.C., the husband and daughter of the late Mrs. Spivey, have established a scholarship fund in the Endowment Fund in the memory of this outstanding music graduate of Due West Woman’s College who was an outstanding teacher of music and church musician. The income from this fund shall provide three or more scholarships annually for students majoring in music, preferably piano. Harriette Edwards Spivey Scholars will be selected by the College Scholarship Committee on recommendation from the Department of Music. They shall be residents of South Carolina, of good moral character, and maintain at least a 2.0 average. Scholarships will be renewable throughout the recipients’ undergraduate education at Erskine College, provided the student maintains the high standards associated originally with the award.